Something I realized while on the freeway today.

Blogger Katie May was kind enough to point out to me in my last post that I shouldn’t get down on myself for only writing 517 words in a day – that even if I just wrote 517 words in every day, it would still be 15,510 words in a month.

I was thinking about that today while on the road and suddenly it hit me: I quit my job back at the end of May, and have been floundering around since then, worrying about whether I made a mistake and whether or not I should be a writer.

If instead of worrying, I had simply sat down and wrote 500 words a day, even if they were terrible, even if it was the worst story ever – I would probably have somewhere around 42,000 words now (I’m terrible at math, so don’t quote me on that).

42,000 words.

So I need to stop hussing and fussing and just sit down and write. Yes, there is the possibility that it will end up being awful, but I won’t know until it’s done.

One thought on “Something I realized while on the freeway today.

  1. You’re welcome. I hope it helps. I know exactly how you feel. I think I stress more about writing then actually doing the writing. It’s like you said just keep writing even if it is only a few words a day, they add up eventually. We’ll just have to accept that the process isn’t perfect nor will our first drafts be!

Leave a Reply

