And I blather on.

It’s the double-edged sword with a blog, isn’t it? Because I made this blog for myself and didn’t expect any followers, but now that I have you guys my posts are beginning to change, because while I’m writing there’s a voice in the back of my head saying ‘someone might read this! make it count!’ and then when I get no likes or comments or new followers from a post I think, ‘what did I do wrong? That last post must have been terrible. Maybe I should delete it?’

So instead of just writing for myself without abandon, I start to worry about what other people might think. (but then if I made this blog private, I think it would bore me.)

I appreciate you guys who have taken the time to read, though. I really do! I’m not trying to push anyone away with this post. It’s just curious how my mindset changes when I feel the slightest bit under a microscope. And that’s with an anonymous blog with nobody reading!

I’m not sure what the takeaway is with this yet. Something to do with recognizing where my headspace is while writing, maybe. Something about learning to be comfortable with the idea of being read, I don’t know. It’s still just vapors, but I think it will take shape. I just don’t want to put a lot of brain energy into it yet.

4 thoughts on “And I blather on.

  1. I do the same thing! But from what I’ve read so far you’re just naturally clever and personable, so you shouldn’t feel self conscious when you don’t get as many comments or likes. Just assume that the post was so amazing you’ve actually stunned all your readers into silence. 🙂

Leave a Reply

