If you don’t think there is magic in writing, you probably won’t write anything magical.

– Terry Brooks

As the air gets cooler and the leaves begin to change outside my window, it’s easier to believe in something magic.

It’s easier to feel that my story could take on a life of its own, that could dive into it and get lost, that I might be able to wrap the words around me like a blanket as I sit hunched over my laptop, typing away.

To suspend the voice inside my head that worries and frets and corrects as I write, and simply let the words take over – you can feel magic in that place, all mist and colors and stories swirling.

Leave a Reply

