Okay, deep breaths.

So, I finished the first draft.

Woo!

But now I’m not supposed to touch it for a couple weeks (apparently, you should leave it alone for a while so when you approach it for revision, you’re looking at it with fresh eyes). So, I thought I would use this time to begin researching some of my next steps: looking at agents I can contact, ways to put myself out there…I’m sitting in Panera right now, feeling a bit overwhelmed by how little I know and how much work is ahead of me.

I just have to keep reminding myself to take it one step at a time – bird by bird, as Anne Lamott would say. So right now, I’m trying to figure out how to use this twitter thing, since it is apparently a good way to interact with other writers, publishers, and agents, as well as making it look like you’re in the know with what’s hip and now and make yourself seem more marketable.

Oh god. I can’t even type a legible sentence about twitter, much less figure out how to use it. Whew. Okay. Deep breaths. I just finished my first draft, I can’t let a little thing like tweeting freak me out! YOU ARE A CHAMPION, JUNE.

Time to put on some Eye of the Tiger and get back to work.

2 thoughts on “Okay, deep breaths.

Leave a Reply

